Changes to the National Executive and National Council

11 June 2023

Following our Annual General Meeting on Saturday 10 June, the United Nations Association of New Zealand (UNA NZ) is pleased to announce changes to the National Executive and National Council.

Karim Dickie was endorsed as National President, taking over from Gaya Paranisamy. James Bushell continues as Vice President.

UNA NZ acknowledges the contribution of outgoing President Gaya Paranisamy, who served in the role from 2021 to 2023. "Gaya navigated the United Nations Association of New Zealand through a challenging period and her contribution to the organisation has been invaluable," incoming President Karim Dickie said. "We look forward to her continued involvement as Immediate Past President".

The full list of National Executive and National Council office holders are noted below.


National Executive

President Karim Dickie

Vice President James Bushell

Secretary Catherine Ashworth

Treasurer Amelia Blamey

National Council Representative Annie Wu

National Council Representative Patrick Metham

Events Officer Hope Lan

Communications Officer Acacia Wall

Immediate Past President Gayathri Paranisamy


National Council

WFUNA Executive Committee Member Joy Dunsheath MNZM JP

Special Officer UN Renewal John O’Brien

Special Officer Humanitarian Affairs Abeer Yousuf

Special Officer Peace and Security Alyn Ware

Special Officer Human Rights Dulce Piacentini

Special Officer Sustainable Economy and Innovation Wajirani Adhihetty

Special Officer Global Health Ishant Ghulyani

quote mark

Karim Dickie UNA NZ